UPASI Tea Research Foundation, Regional Centre

Glenview, Coonoor Nilgiris (HQ: Udhagamandalam), Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, India, 64310




Other Branches:

UPASI Tea Research Foundation,
Upasi Tea Research Foundation, Regional Centre,Kerala

Also Listed In
Related Labs
Scope of Accrediation

Accrediation valid upto

About UPASI Tea Research Foundation, Regional Centre

The UPASI Tea Scientific Department witnessed a very important event in 1999. The UPASI found it necessary to form a separate Tea Research Foundation (hereafter TRF) for better administration of scientific research pertaining to cultivation, production and processing of tea and other allied aspects. Management of the UPASI TRF vests with the Board of Trustees whose tenure is for three years. The Board of Trustees consists of members not exceeding 15 and they have to be nominated by the Executive Committee of UPASI, two representatives of the Government of India nominated by the Ministry of Commerce and three representatives of the Tea Board, including the Chairman, Tea Board. However, the day to day administration of the Foundation is carried out by the Management Committee, consisting of six members of the Board of Trustees (nominated by UPASI) and two members of the Board of Trustees (nominees from Ministry of Commerce and Tea Board) besides the Director, TRF is an ex officio member and the Secretary General of UPASI is the Secretary of the TRF. At present the UPASI TRF comprises the Tea Research Institute at Valparai and its six Regional (Advisory) Centres at Coonoor, Gudalur, Koppa, Munnar, Meppadi and Vandiperiyar as mentioned earlier.